book reviews, Lindsey Kelk

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT – LINDSEY KELK

**Spoilers Ahead, Read On With Caution**

I have to be totally transparent and firstly say that this is possibly one of my favourite Lindsey Kelk covers. It’s so simple, but also so distinctive and soft on the eyes. I was very excited when this came into our shop and immediately bought it with plans to read it on my day off; which I did, whilst listening to the new Taylor Swift album, Folklore, on an all day repeat. I should probably admit that I haven’t stopped listening to it since then either. This book is so classic Lindsey with her humour and wit that it makes me wanna in case you missed itreread her catalog… Maybe I should start with WE WERE ON A BREAK as that was my first dip in, and what started this whole thing.

I really enjoyed IN CASE YOU MISSED IT. It was exactly what I needed to perk me back up from the self imposed slub I’d slid into whilst reading MY DARK VANESSA. So thank you Lindsey for that. I have to admit that I couldn’t really remember what this book was about, as I hadn’t read the synopsis since it was first released, so this was a lovely “going in eyes wide open” experience. Once again, a colourful and exciting group of friends have been crafted that leave me feeling bitter and envious about my bestie shortcomings and total lack of social life. Not that I try overly hard to rectify this, I’m antisocial and okay with my own company. Ros is everything I wish I could be, but unlikely to achieve. She’s career assertive, she’s supportive and nostalgic, loyal, willing, and patient. Ros’ downfall is her unwillingness to move on from the bad, and relish the now. This is a story about accepting times need to continue to move forward, friendship and acknowledging a toxic relationship, and podcasts – not about serial killers. 

I wish we could have got a few more scenes between John and Ros, just to get some more depth on their progression. But I also enjoyed the fact that I could never really tell who she would end up with as Patrick was her “one”, even though he was acting like a two. The thing I liked between Patrick and Ros was just that I was always waiting for that crashing moment of Ros calling Patrick out on all his BS and small manipulations. He didn’t take notice, or show interest in her that wasn’t strictly physical, or remember the smallest details about her current living situation. Barely made it to any of the important events she invited him to on time. I wanted to see Ros go absolutely ham on Patrick, verbally rip him and new one to see if he’d retaliate with passion or compassion or even acknowledge it. This is why I was always more swayed to John, because even though he was new and wasn’t making the best first impression to her, he was present and listening in their small moments. Keeping tabs and absorbing and droplet of knowledge he could gain about her. 

Something this book excelled at was remaining current without being too pinpointed to a particular year. The best books are often vague about their time setting, but not too vague that you can’t mention certain things that will reflect the time. Lindsey’s books never make me feel too bogged down in current times because they’re timeless. They fit all and any occasions. Can be read multiple times, and adored more each time. They’re some of my favourite feel-good-pick-me-up books. There’s a reason she’s one of my favourite writers. 

Leave a comment