book reviews, Tessa Bailey

GETAWAY GIRL – TESSA BAILEY

**Spoilers Ahead, Read On With Caution**

I’ve read a couple of Tessa Bailey’s books before, namely FIX HER UP and LOVE HER OR LOSE HER and so I had very high expectations for GETAWAY GIRL. But I have to say, the magic wasn’t quite with me for this one. Something was missing, it felt both rushed and too slow at the same time; like the plot was not moving fluidly and sometimes needed a time leap to get it where it needed to be. I couldn’t properly visualise Elijah Montgomery Du Pont (ridiculous name by the way) because he didn’t feel real to me. He was a kind hearted southern man left jilted at the alter, who jumps into a car and starts angetaway girl immediate friendship/roomateship with Addison Potts – the brides cousin. This all happened within the first quarter of the book, and they were cemented as best friends, I’d have just liked for this to be focused and built upon a little more before the messy sexual emotions joined the party and diluted the plot. From here on out they were either avoiding each other, having sex, or not having a conversation they clearly needed to have because they both thought the other thought something they didn’t, and it was driving me insane. 

“You have to admit, you’re a little clumsy.” I gasp. “Only when scary politicians leap out of the shadows.” 

Addison comes back to town after her Grandmother dies and leaves her apartment and Christmas ornament shop to her, and is only here to tie loose ends and bounce. Except she doesn’t because she sees über handsome Elijah at the alter waiting to marry her cousin Naomi. Blah blah blah jilted groom, blah blah blah she’s the driver of the car he gets into to leave the scene, blah blah blah FRIENDS!

“Unlock the door or I’ll call a locksmith. You’re going to be comfortable in my home, goddammit.” Her mouth wobbles and she breaks into a laugh. “What is this? Aggressive southerning?” 

This book was both too much and too little, and I have to admit that I sorta gave up around page 192. I’m a quick reader, but I was dragging my feet to read this because it wasn’t what I thought it would be. It was well written, but not substantial enough for me. Plus, the most infuriating thing was in it, characters who refuse to have a simple conversation to straighten things out, and instead you get to read from both they POV’s about how they’re stupid in reading the obvious signs. It’s not believable to me if I can see the clear conclusions but the characters are blissfully and annoying blind to them. Made me give up on the plot, and now I may never know how they break up and get back together, and be happy. How will I ever go on? I’ll tell you how, perfectly fine because I know that’s what’s going to happen. Elijah is the newly appointed mayor dating a home wreckers daughter, the town and media won’t like it, bride who left him will reappear, Addison calls their relationship off, Elijah sad and confused, few months of moping and sadness pass, both see errors of their ways, get back together and promise to be better, then epilogue with probable engagement or pregnancy, then the end. 

I won’t need to read the rest of this book, and hopefully I can find something good to read now. God I miss the Sinners Of Saint and All Saints High series’, wish I could read them for the first time again. Le sigh.

P.S. I also hated the nicknames Captain and Goose.

Leave a comment