book reviews, Christina Lauren

DATING YOU, HATING YOU – CHRISTINA LAUREN

**Spoilers Ahead, Read On With Caution**

(I started writing this about two weeks ago, and then the laptop died, and remained dead – trying to get a new charger for it. Sorry for the weird schedule lately.)

Three for three it seems with this reviewing flow, now sat at the table, still in Tenterden. I’ll admit that this isn’t the normal method I’d use when writing reviews; banging three out in one afternoon, but you have to let the words flow when they’re there I guess. 

DATING YOU, HATING YOU was the first book I read by Christina Lauren, but definitely not my favourite. I’ll be honest in saying that if I’d read it without knowing about the other books by the author, I’d have probably not picked up another book by them for a while… I love a good office romance book, but something about this one left me feeling a little unsatisfied by the plot progression, and I still can’t put my finger on what exactly it is. Except maybe just the general believability of it all.

Despite a meet-awkward at a mutual friend’s party, Carter and Evie immediately hit it off. Even the realisation that they’re both high-powered agents at competing firms in Hollywood isn’t enough to smother the flames. But when their two agencies merge-causing the pair to vie for the same position-all bets are off. What could have been a beautiful, blossoming romance turns into an all-out war of sabotage. Carter and Evie are both thirty-something professionals-so why can’t they act like it? When push comes to shove and love fights with hate, will these two ever get their fairy tale Hollywood ending?

Carter was a bit of a conflicting character as I didn’t know what I wanted to think about him. He gets portrayed as a younger guy who’s hot and flirty, but then also as a guy who cares about nothing but his job. I just wasn’t sure I really liked him, and I’m comparison to the male characters in Christina Lauren’s later books, he’s not at their level. Even after reading the Beautiful Series (BEAUTIFUL BASTARD) he’s not written similarly to any of those male characters either, which just made me feel like he was a kind of lazy character to write; he was easy. I also felt mostly the same about Evie too. She was also a bit flat in terms of written vibrancy, but I did enjoy her interactions with her girl friends, as they were just fuller and filled with something more.

As much as I love an office romance, I don’t really think I’ll be reading this again. I am however completely in love with Christina Lauren’s writing style, and cannot wait for what else there is come!

Leave a comment