book reviews, Colleen Hoover

TOO LATE – COLLEEN HOOVER

**Spoilers Ahead, Read On With Caution**

I’ve read a lot of Colleen Hoover’s books in my time, many of which I haven’t gotten around to reviewing yet as there’s always something I’ve just finished that’s fresher in my mind. But none have been disappointing, and TOO LATE is no different. It was everything I expected a grittier Hoover book to be, and then some. That’s not to say that in this particular book, CoHo wrote a particularly puzzling character because she had some more needy flaws than your typical gal.

Sloan will go through hell and back for those she loves. And she does, every single day. After finding herself stuck in a relationship with the dangerous and morally corrupt Asa too lateJackson, Sloan will do whatever it takes to get by until she’s able to find a way out. Nothing will get in her way. Nothing except Carter. Sloan is the best thing to ever happen to Asa. And if you ask Asa, he’d say he’s the best thing to ever happen to Sloan. Despite Sloan’s disapproval of Asa’s sinister lifestyle, he does exactly what he needs to do in order to stay a step ahead in his business. He also does exactly what he needs to do in order to stay a step ahead of Sloan. Nothing will get in his way. Nothing except Carter.

I liked being in Sloan, Asa and Carters heads, seeing it unfold from all three angles was a unique and necessary experience. Sloan I found to be odd. Simply because although she feels trapped in her relationship with Asa completely, she at no point attempts to gain independence financially. I can’t start to imagine what it’s like in her shoes, but you’d think some form of outward dependence would happen. But, perhaps not considering Asa went mental when Sloan went to a pizza place after her college classes.

I found the easy bounce between the characters a brilliant way to keep the pace quick. It was near impossible to really put the book down because I was constantly being pushed further into the story. Carter/Luke was a slightly more basic character for me, and although he was an important aspect to the plot, he lacked the normal CoHo flair for me.

Asa however, was impossible to not get wrapped up in. Although he was a dreadful, and I mean truly dreadful, person he was captivating. His mind was so gross and perverted that there was a constant need to know what he’d come out with, or up with next. His twisted idea of love for Sloan was heartbreaking, and at times, hard to read. This book is incredibly graphic in descriptions I wasn’t ready for to be honest.

I have to admit that I didn’t read all of the epilogues as I was a bit ready to read something else by then. It’s not the easiest book to swallow unprepared, but I will be reading what I didn’t when it next comes to mind, that’s for sure.

Leave a comment