Ayisha Malik, book reviews

SOFIA KHAN IS NOT OBLIGED – AYISHA MALIK

**Spoilers Ahead, Read On With Caution**

Well, hello there. Fancy seeing you here, reading a review about a book, and me having read it. But trust me, this one’s a rambler and slightly shorter than normal. I’m sorry Ayisha Khan if you read this, I could not apparently get my thoughts to remain on one happy thought. 

Sofia Khan is single once again, after realising her boyfriend was slightly too close to his sofia khan is not obligedfamily for her liking. And she means, still living with his family and wanting her to live there too. But when her boss asks her to write a book about the weird and wonderful world of Muslim dating. However, even though she’s definitely not looking for love again anytime soon, Sofia knows that some research will need to happen. Then there’s her grouchy neighbour, Conall, catching her eye, this book may just write itself…

This book, was a breath of accidental fresh air. Being her debut novel, I was happily surprised at the level of good storytelling Ayisha Malik showed. The overall level of debut novels has majorly gone up, every debut I’ve read recently has been so good, and I’m so here for it!

“I’m a marginally intelligent, selectively confident, assertive woman.” 

This book taught me a lot that I didn’t know. Not just about Muslim dating and culture, but also some tidbits about working in a publishers. Sofia is witty, unapologetic and a lady I could aspire to be, not to mention she has a dream job at a publishing house. She knows she doesn’t want to date yet, but faces it head on and throws herself into the somewhat wacky book she’s been asked to write. Tackling dating one day at a time, Sofia handles it with grace, sarcasm and a touch of hesitation; much like we all would in that situation. I really just enjoyed the easy progression of the book and how she went about composing the book, but that’s not to say that it was a basic book. It was very good, and very funny.  Brilliant for a first read on something written by Ayisha Malik in fact. 

SOFIA KHAN IS NOT OBLIGED was everything I needed when having a poolside holiday, and I couldn’t have found a better read, honestly. This is a true checklist/rom com (whatever you want to call it) at its finest.

Leave a comment